If you are planning a night of partying you should also plan a designated driver! Driving in Illinois is considered a privilege, not a right.
Being pulled over for Drinking and Driving is not the same as it was 10 or 20 years ago; in the past you could go to court and it would cost you a few hundred dollars as a fine, court supervision, 30 days of AA meeting attendance and a commitment not to do it again.
Today the consequences are much more severe. The State of Illinois is not taking Drinking and Driving lightly. The State can revoke your driving privileges if you are pulled over and they ask you to take a breathalyzer test.
- If you blow a .08 or plus into the breathalyzer at the scene you could lose your driving privileges for 3 months
- If you refuse to blow into the breathalyzer you could lose your license for 6 months
- If you hold a CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) the State of Illinois has a zero tolerance stance and you could lose your license.
You may want to pause if you drive for a living, commute or travel for your career. Loosing your driver’s license could put your career in jeopardy. In today’s economy employers are not taking it lightly if you are arrested for a DUI; they view it as more than someone who has had a couple of drinks at a party; instead they see a person who is undependable, irresponsible and possibly difficult to insure.
If you are pulled over and issued a ticket for driving drunk, or driving while impaired, it is considered a criminal case. Having a license is a considered a privilege and it could be suspended by the state. If you are pulled over or ticketed, call our office as soon as possible so we can help you fight the criminal and civil charges and hopefully help you retain your right to drive in Illinois, keep you out of jail and help alleviate the consequences of a DUI charge.